Cycles

I remember learning about the cocaine cycle in a university class I took. Basically you feel down, take coke, feel up and then get dropped even lower, prompting you to use coke again. So you go in circles. I feel I’ve been going through cycles of active using and abstinence that can be as wide as 6 months or as narrow as a few weeks or even days. For me the type of drugs can also vary between cycles. Currently I’m coming out of a predominantly alcoholic cycle and once again I have that feeling of being reborn. How long until the path starts to curve again? I don’t know and I pray it stays straight forever! But I can’t get that optimistic anymore. We’ll just have to see…

Leave a Reply

