Gay sex club…Episode 1

On a bright fall morning I decided to take a day off from normal life. I would spend it doing whatever I felt like. And what I mainly felt like was drinking. At home I’d dressed up as though I were going to work as usual and at work my boss received a cryptic text that I was not going to make it to the office today. The following day was the beginning of a long weekend and the scent of freedom was in the air. The scene was set for an adventure.

My first stop was the liquor store to buy half a bottle of gin. During this phase of my alcoholism I would drink the stuff straight from the bottle. After the first few swigs I could feel the familiar comfort: a warmth in my stomach and the relaxation of my facial muscles. The after-taste lingered like a burn in my a mouth and throat; I was beginning to feel a gaiety rise inside of me. The next stop would have to be one where I could enjoy my drink in peace – driving around while drinking is even more hazardous than drunk driving! There was a park in my vicinity; a very nice and quiet one that was ideal for parking your car away from prying eyes. This is where I went.

The section of the park where I stopped was close to a bird watching shelter. All around me were tall old trees shedding their leaves. It was a beautiful setting and I felt at ease almost immediately. Once in a while joggers or people walking their dogs would pass my car but I was mostly out of the way, observing them from a safe distance. As I drank and enjoyed the scenery I listened to my favorite podcast to occupy my mind. I became more relaxed with every sip and when I was sufficiently drunk I even ventured out of my  car to the observation point and watched the birds on the pond and in the reeds. I returned to my car and continued to work on the bottle of gin while the time slipped past 11 AM. Although I was enjoying the podcast episodes I did realize that the larger part of the day was still ahead of me and I couldn’t continue drinking at the rate I was going for much longer and still be able to drive OK. A hint of boredom was creeping into the equation when an unexpected occurrence changed the course of my day.

A car had slowly made its way along the park road and I watched it going round the bend towards me. As it came closer I could discern the driver: a white middle-aged man with a neatly styled haircut and wearing somewhat flamboyant glasses. He drove into the round about of the cul de sac where I was parked and slowed down to a crawl as he neared me. When we were sitting parallel to each other he gave me a long and searching look. Too long for it to be socially comfortable (though I didn’t care, I was drunk and carefree). Then he smiled at me to which I responded by lifting my bottle towards him in a “cheers” motion and smiled back. Then I turned my gaze away from him back towards the trees opposite my driver’s window. I’d recognized what had happened: this was clearly a gay cruising spot. My gestures made it clear to him that I was not there for the purpose of picking up men, so he left. But this incident got me thinking about the gay sub-culture, and being the curious person I am, it gave me some inspiration of what I could do with the rest of my day. I could explore this strange world in more detail…

Leave a Reply

